top of page

I Was Fobbed Off For So Long

I’m Sam and I'm 35 years old. I found out in November 2017, aged 33, after four years of trying for a baby and being seen by consultants regularly, that I had cancer cells in the lining of my womb. I pushed for a scan as I wasn’t happy with pain and bleeding I was still getting after many trips to the doctors, and even to A&E, only to be told it was normal and nothing was wrong with me.

I was fobbed off for so long but I kept on at the doctors and then, after three biopsies and a pelvis MRI, a grade 2 tumour was found. It went from cells to a tumour, from trying for a baby to suddenly thinking I was dying, and my world shattered to pieces. I was sobbing hysterically in the hospital telling them,"I don’t want to die." There was talk of Chemotherapy which just terrified me. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing and just wanted the cancer out of me straightaway.

I had a full hysterectomy in December 2017, with twenty-one lymph nodes removed, followed by four lots of brachytherapy. Thankfully the cancer was contained in the womb so there was no further treatment after that, but check ups were needed every three months. I've gone on to six monthly check ups since and, yes, I'm still a nervous wreck and heartbroken that I’ll never have my own baby but one thing this has taught me is to live life to the full. I'll never give up on my baby dreams and have the most amazing sister who's offered to be a surrogate for me and my husband. At the moment we can't financially afford it but one day! I'll keep praying it will happen.

If you're ever in doubt about symptoms, see your GP and don’t be fobbed off!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Blogger Classic
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page