top of page

Sidnie Runs The London Marathon: A Fundraising Story.

Many thanks to Sidnie for letting us share her fundraising story to help raise awareness.

IMG_9436.PNG

I am a proud finisher of London Marathon 2015 but even prouder to have raised money for womb cancer research through the UK registered charity GRACE - Gynae-oncology Research & Clinical Excellence. I have raised nearly £1500 which is being split in half as I also raised money for the charity Stroke Association.

I chose to raise money for GRACE because this time last year my Mummy was diagnosed with womb (uterine) cancer. Twenty three women a day are diagnosed with womb cancer, and eight out of ten women survive this disease for at least five years. I am one of those very lucky eight to still have my Mummy.

GRACE supports ovarian, cervical and womb cancer and I chose for half of my total funds raised to go specifically towards womb cancer research. In 2012, two thousand women died from womb cancer, that’s more than five a day. There is very little research into womb cancer and no dedicated national awareness campaign. I hope from running the London Marathon and sharing my story about my fundraising I have helped to raise some sort of awareness.

IMG_9449.JPG

I finished with the time of 3 hours 38 minutes. I was on for 3 hours 10 minutes until the last five miles where I got extremely bad cramp in every muscle in my legs which made me stop, walk, cry, because I could not physically move my legs!! I'm most probably going to do it again next year and if I do I'm going for anything below sub 3!!!

Thank you for reading this and please visit my page as I still have a few days left to raise money. The link is:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Blogger Classic
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page