top of page

What the hell is endometrial cancer?!


I was 24 and I already had polycystic ovaries. This meant any kind of problem down below I always put it down to those. I wasn't due for a smear test yet and had no idea about womb cancer.

I'd been having a constant period for around seven months when eventually I collapsed. I went to the doctor and she referred me to the hospital. They did a scan and some blood tests and eventually told me that the reason I was bleeding so much was because my womb lining was very thick and the top layer was constantly coming away. I was booked for a D&C, a smear and to have a coil fitted to keep my womb lining thin.

After the procedure I was told to go back in around a month's time for them to check that the coil was still in place. I received a letter from the hospital after a couple of weeks asking me to go back. I thought it was early but put it down to them checking the coil. I sat and waited to be called in for a long time, panicking about getting back to work. I told them I needed to leave but was advised I couldn't and they needed to speak to me that day.

Eventually I was taken in to see the consultant and was slightly confused when a Macmillan nurse sat in the room with us. I thought at the time she must have been training or something, because my smear test had come back clear. It couldn't be anything to do with me.

I was advised that whilst I was under anaesthetic they'd taken a biopsy of my womb. It had come back that I had pre-cancerous and cancerous cells. My first response was "doesn't everyone have pre-cancerous cells?" She said yes, but you have cancerous cells too. It didn't sink in as she was talking to me and I asked outright "do I have cancer?" Yes. I was 24. Alone at the hospital. Being told I had cancer of the womb. What the hell is endometrial cancer?!

Most of the days after that were a blur, waiting for scans and blood tests. Eventually I was told I was lucky it was only stage 1 and I was treated with injections and medication, further hysteroscopies, scrapes, biopsies and check ups.

Around a year later I had the good news that the cancer had been "reversed". On the down side, I have to keep the coil and my consultant is now telling me I'll need biopsies every year until I have a hysterectomy.

Due to my PCOS I don't ovulate. My consultant has told me to try for a baby sooner rather than later but there are several possibilities/outcomes that could come about. I've already been told that as soon as the coil comes out the cancer could return immediately, or it might not. Mixing that together with IVF and all of the hormones that would come with that, it's difficult.

I'm grateful for my cancer. It made me see life differently and understand how lucky I was to get through it so quickly. When I got my "all clear", my dad had just been told his lung cancer was terminal. It was very difficult knowing I would be OK but he wouldn't.

I think women need to be more confident in talking about issues like irregular periods, bleeding, pains, lumps and bumps. I was 24 and I couldn't think of anything more embarrassing than a doctor looking down there. I'm 30 now and I feel blessed for every year I've been given since then. For the sake of feeling uncomfortable for a few minutes, I urge all of my friends to get the smear test done. Get the lump checked out. Tell your doctor about your bleeding.

I hope more younger people learn about womb cancer and it isn't just "one of those you wouldn't think exists".

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Blogger Classic
  • YouTube Classic
bottom of page